New Years Resolutions

happynewyear.jpg

It’s the new year!!! It’s 2016!!!

This means it’s time for resolutions, new beginnings and just starting over if you have to and want to!

I always try to come into the new year with the perspective of ‘whatever makes you happy, do it’ but this seems to somewhat fade a bit as the year goes on. So I thought of my past resolutions and why nothing’s been really working for me as far as new years goals and I figured it out.

It seems that I always tend to make these really broad statements like “I’ll eat better” or “I’ll get fit” or “I’ll get organized”. These goals are like as vague and unstructured as they get. I mean sure they are good ideas but how am I supposed to use that other then like stating my goal out loud as simply as possible.

So I thought it through and I’ve made goals. But these goals are more precise and don’t all start off super crazy and impossible, I’m gonna build up to them.

Hopefully these resolutions are similar to yours and they can help you build up your goals or just do the same as me!

Go to the Gym more often

This resolution has probably been on my list as “get fit” for a long time but I’ve sort of decided to split it into 2 goals and this is the first one.
I’ll start off the year aiming for going to the gym at least 2 to 3 times a week and build to 4 to 5 by the end of the year.

Start running again

I used to run all the time for my school and it was one of the best exercise I ever did for getting in shape so I really want to get back onto the jogging train. Only problem… the weather here in Montreal is full on snow storm so… when weather permits I will get back into running and try to do it at least once a week.

Eat Less Sugar

Pretty simple right? Nope.
At my house, the sugar craze is insane, I used to eat like 3-4 cookies every night but I got better. I now only eat like 1 or 2 (still terrible). So this year I’m aiming pretty high and challenging myself. It’s time to eat a dessert only 5 times a week and then try to get that number down to 3. There is still wiggle room for birthdays and stuff like that (I’m not crazy)

My sugar from now on = smoothie bowls and healthy food

Eat Less Meat

I’m not saying go Vegetarian, I’m just saying I’m going to try to cut it a lot. I’m aiming for meat only at supper (which I already do) and only 4 to 5 times a week. I was a vegetarian for 4 months last year and it made me feel so much better and I don’t really like meat at all so this one shouldn’t be too difficult!

Here are a couple random others that I just need a reminder of once in a while:

  1. Be happy
  2. Get a job (seriously Emma get to it)
  3. Stay organized
  4. Plan more things
  5. Be more open to new things
  6. Stop shopping so much
  7. Don’t be afraid to act like a kid (life is way better like that!)

I’ve already put number 7 into action this week!! Built a snow man and huge fort with my sister and our friend! Not joking here, the fort looks like an igloo, it’s like past 6 feet tall (the bottom picture is only half way through the full construction)!!!

IMG_2310

Screen Shot 2016-08-18 at 9.52.26 AM

Leave a Reply

